FIGO Women's Award 2021 winners announced at General Assembly

At day two of our General Assembly on 28 October, FIGO announced the winners of the 2021 FIGO Women's Awards: Recognising Female Obstetricians and Gynaecologists. The Awards recognise those women who, throughout their careers, have promoted better health care for women, mothers and their children.

women's awards graphics

Dr Carlos Füchtner, FIGO President 2018–2021, announced the winners of the FIGO Awards in Recognition of Female Obstetricians/Gynaecologists, which were first presented at the 1997 FIGO World Congress of Gynecology & Obstetrics.

The awards have honoured some of the amazing work of the members of our Member Societies, who throughout their careers have advanced the health of women and girls around the world.

The recipients of the awards were as follows:

Professor Anowara Begum, Bangladesh

Dr Mekdes Daba Feyssa, Ethiopia

Dr Laura Leonor Gil Urbano, Colombia

Professor Kiyoko Kato, Japan

Professor Asma Khalil, UK

Dr Anne Kihara, Kenya

Professor Alka Kriplani, India

Professor Fionnuala McAuliffe, Ireland

Dra Luz del Carmen Sanabria-Villegas, Mexico

Professor Stalina Rafaela Santisteban Alba, Cuba

Dra Sophia Villata Delgado, El Salvador

Professor Dr Woo Yin Ling, Malaysia