OBGYNs and FIGO leaders join the new PMNCH governance teams

Earlier this summer, the Partnership for Maternal, Newborn & Child Health (PMNCH) announced the leaders and members of its new standing committees and working groups.

Visual of Jeanne Conry's quote

The International Federation of Gynecology and Obstetrics (FIGO) is proud to have members of our organisation join as volunteers to serve the new governance board of the PMNCH.

These new leadership announcements have come as part of a governance reform process within the alliance, aimed at creating a more focused and effective platform for action.

As the global voice of women’s health, bringing together more than 130 national OBGYN societies, FIGO’s work is closely linked to PMNCH’s mission to further worldwide progress for women, children and adolescents' health and wellbeing.

On the appointments, Dr Jeanne Conry, FIGO President Elect, said,

Obstetricians and gynaecologists provide care, treatment, education and advice to women and girls across their lifespan. We devote our lives to maternal and newborn health. FIGO looks forward to our leaders playing a pivotal role in the PMNCH alliance, which promotes and advocates for the health, wellbeing and rights of women, newborns and children.

We are excited to see the following OBGYNs and members of FIGO’s leadership and committees become part of PMNCH’s governance.

  • Dr Jeanne Conry, FIGO President Elect, as Vice Chair of the Partner Engagement in Countries Committee. Dr Conry is also a PMNCH Board Member representing the Healthcare Professional Associations (HCPA) Constituency
  • Prof Marlene Temmerman, member of the FIGO Committee for Human Rights, Refugees and Violence Against Women, as a PMNCH Board Alternate representing the Academic, Research and Training Institutes (ART) Constituency
  • Prof Mary Ann Lumsden, FIGO Chief Executive, as Vice Chair of the Healthcare Professional Associations (HCPA) Constituency
  • Dr Atziri Ramirez, President of the World Association of Trainees in Obstetrics & Gynecology (WATOG), as member of the Strategic Advocacy Committee Reference Group
  • Dr Dorothy Shaw, FIGO Past President 2006–2009, as Vice Chair of the Governance and Ethics Committee
  • Prof Mark Hanson, member of the FIGO Pregnancy & Non-Communicable Diseases Committee, as Chair of the Knowledge and Evidence Working Group
  • Prof Bo Jacobsson, Chair of the FIGO Working Group for Preterm Delivery, as member of the Knowledge and Evidence Working Group
  • Dr Chipo Gwanzura, Obstetrician-Gynaecologist from Zimbabwe, as member of the Knowledge and Evidence Working Group
  • Dr Jaideep Malhotra, Member of the FIGO Committee on Reproductive Medicine, Endocrinology and Infertility, as member of the Accountability Working Group
  • Dr Elif Topçu, Gynaecologist from Turkey, as member of the Accountability Working Group.

Obstetricians and gynaecologists play a key role in ensuring safe maternal and newborn health. The presence of talented OBGYNs to the PMNCH governance structure is a great accomplishment and FIGO looks forward to seeing the progress that will be made during their 2021–2025 term.