Committee on Minimal Access Surgery

The Committee on Minimal Access Surgery (MAS) strives to promote minimally invasive surgical approaches, such as hysteroscopy and laparoscopy, for benign gynaecologic conditions. These approaches are commonly used in high-income countries, while laparotomy continues to be frequently used throughout the world. 

By increasing the use of MAS, morbidity and mortality associated with gynaecologic surgery will decrease worldwide. In line with FIGO’s primary mission, increased access and use of MAS will allow women to achieve the highest standard of physical, mental, reproductive and sexual health and wellbeing.

Committee Objectives

  • Educate women and health care providers on the option of MAS approaches for treatment of gynaecologic conditions.
  • Advocate for MAS access for all individuals and empower women to seek this as an option.
  • Decrease barriers to provide gynaecologic surgeons with expertise in MAS techniques by facilitating training programmes.

Women worldwide are frequently faced with gynaecologic conditions that necessitate surgical intervention. The means by which this intervention is performed can either facilitate return to daily activities quickly or be associated with a prolonged recovery and a high risk of complications or mortality. 

Minimal access surgical approaches have consistently been proven to promote expedited recovery while minimising an individual’s risk. These approaches are essential to promote a woman’s immediate and long-term health.

– Dr Megan Wasson, Committee Chair

Committee Members


Dr Megan Wasson, USA


Dr Juan Diego Villegas, Colombia – Past Chair

Dr Muna Abdulrazak Tahlak, United Arab Emirates – Ex Officio

Professor Mansour Niang, Senegal

Dr Tsukasa Baba, Japan

Dr Nucelio Lemos, Canada

Dr Claudia Lopez, Colombia

Professor Arnaud Wattiez, United Arab Emirates

Dr Herve Fernandez, France

Dr Philomena Akoth Owende, Kenya

Professor Laila Arjumand Banu, Bangladesh

Professor Neji Khaled, Tunisia

Dr Ivo Meinhold-Heerlein, Germany

Dr Chipo Gwanzura, Zimbabwe – WATOG

Get in touch with the committee
If you'd like to get in touch with our Committee on Minimal Access Surgery, please use the contact us link above.