FIGO President - Dr Carlos Fuchtner (Bolivia)

Dr Carlos Eduardo Fuchtner graduated as a Medical Doctor in The Medical School Universidad Estadual de Campinas in Sao Paulo, Brazil in 1984. He then completed Residency Training in Obstetrics and Gyecology in the University of Chile, Santiago de Chile and did a Clinical Research Fellow in the Department of Obstetrics and Gyneacology in the University of California from 1989 to 1991 in Irvine, United States.

Dr Fuchtner was a gynecolologist at Instituto Oncologico del Oriente Boliviano in Bolivia from 1991 to 2008. He was the Chairman of the Gynecology Oncology Department, at Instituto Oncologico del Oriente Boliviano from 2001 to 2003.

Dr Fuchtner was Extraordinary Professor of Obstetrics and Gynecology at Hospital Municipal de la Mujer from 2009 to 2015 in Bolivia, President of the Bolivian Obstetrics and Gynecology Society from 2000 to 2002, President of the FLASOG from 2005 to 2008. In 2010 he was awarded Honorary Fellowship Society SOGC and in 2014 MAESTRO of Latin American Obstetrics and Gynecology in Ecuador.

Dr Fuchter has been actively involved in numerous aspects of FIGO’s work for many years, including being a member of FIGO’s Executive Board from 2002 to 2005 when he represented FLASOG, and from 2012 to 2018 representing SBOG. He was a member of FIGO Audit Commitee from 2004 to 2006. Dr Fuchtner became President FIGO on 19 October 2018.


Vice President - Dr Faysal El Kak (Lebanon)

President Elect -  Dr Jeanne Conry (USA)

Past President - Prof. CN Purandare (India)

Honorary Secretary - Prof. Dame Lesley Regan (UK)

Honorary Treasurer -  Dr Ralph Hale 


Chief Executive - Prof. Mary Ann Lumsden (UK) - Ex-Officio